The DIE is a registered institution. In accordance with its articles of association, the DIE has three committees: general assembly, board of directors and administrative body. The general assembly elects three representatives from the fields of research and practice for the administrative body which supervises the institute’s legality, expedience and efficiency. Consisting of two directors, the body of directors manages the institute, administrates the institution and represents the Leibniz Association.

General Assembly:

Board of Directors:

Administrative Board:

  • President Prof. Dr. Joachim Ludwig, University of Potsdam
  • Vice-President Dr. Michael H. Wappelhorst, Ministry for Innovation, Science and Research of the Federal State North-Rhine Westphalia (MIWF)
  • Mirco Fretter, Forum DistancE-Learning
  • Ulf Rautenstrauch, Standing Conference of the Ministers of Education and Cultural Affairs
  • Dr. Ute Ringelband, Leibniz Institute for Science and Mathematics Education (IPN)
  • Barbara Menke, National Committee Work and Life 
  • MinR Peter Munk, Federal Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF)
  • Prof. Dr. Steffi Robak, Leibniz University Hannover
  • Bernd Passens, German Adult Education Association (DVV)
  • Prof. Dr. Anne Schlüter, University Duisburg-Essen
  • Andreas Seiverth, German Protestant Consortium for Adult Education (DEAE)
  • MinDirig Thomas Sondermann, Federal Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF)
  • Petra Schoppmann, Ministry for Innovation, Science and Research of the Federal State North-Rhine Westphalia (MIWF)

Advisory Board

  • President Prof. Dr. Rudolf Tippelt, Ludwig Maximilians University of Munich
  • Vice-President Dr. Carola Schelle-Wolff, German Library Association (dbv)
  • Prof. Dr. Ralf Bergold, Catholic Federal Organisation of Adult Education (KEB)
  • Dr. Knut Diekmann, Association of German Chambers of Industry and Commerce (DIHK)
  • Prof. Dr. John Field, University of Stirling
  • Prof. Dr. Wiltrud Gieseke, Humboldt University of Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Stefanie Hartz, Braunschweig University of Technology
  • Prof. Dr. Marcus Hasselhorn, German Institute for International Educational Research (DIPF)
  • Prof. Dr. Klaus Meisel, Adult Education Centre Munich (MVHS)
  • Ulrich Nordhaus, German Trade Union Confederation (DGB) federal executive board
  • Prof. Dr. Sabine Schmidt-Lauff, Chemnitz University of Technology
  • Prof. Dr. Klaus Tochtermann, German National Library of Economics (ZBW)


Letzte Änderung: 29/05/2017