Innovation Prize for Continuing Education 2023

Adult and continuing education responds to socially relevant changes more sensitively, quickly and sustainably than other educational sectors. With the "Innovation Prize for Continuing Education 2023", the DIE supports the recognition of this achievement and makes visible where it succeeds particularly impressively.

On 4 December 2023, we will award the prize at the "DIE-Forum Weiterbildung" in Bonn to learning opportunities and projects for adult and continuing education that promote socio-ecological change in an innovative way.

Many thanks for the numerous, impressive applications sent to us!

Teaser Innovationspreis

Call for entries 2023

The "Innovation Prize for Continuing Education 2023" recognizes the formative role of adult and continuing education in the context of the social-ecological transformation.

The term socio-ecological transformation refers to the need for a comprehensive change in the way we deal with the natural foundations of life. At the same time, it makes clear that this transformation is a joint task that requires ecologically responsible action in all areas of society and across traditional spatial, temporal and social boundaries.
With this in mind, the German Advisory Council on Global Change (WBGU) called for a "social contract for the Great Transformation" back in 2011.
In essence, this involves the (self-)commitment of individuals, organizations and institutions to concerted and thus effective transformative action in the direction of equitable and sustainable progress.


A jury with expert members from science and practice will award learning offers and projects from all areas of adult and continuing education that successfully respond to new educational challenges and learning occasions with innovative solutions.

All information on the call for entries, the criteria and the Innovation Award can be found in our 
call for entries brochure. (German only)

The patroness

Prof. Dr. Maja Göpel

Prof. Dr. Maja Göpel

Political economist, expert on sustainability policy and transformation research, author, speaker, consultant, university lecturer, and co-founder Scientists4Future.

Die Jury

Hermann J. Abs

Prof. Dr. Hermann J. Abs

University Duisburg-Essen

Prof. Dr. Simone Birkel

Prof. Dr. Simone Birkel

Catholic University Eichstätt-Ingolstadt

Prof. Dr. Nina Langen

Prof. Dr. Nina Langen

Technical University Berlin

Stefan Rostock

Stefan Rostock

Germanwatch e.V.

Mareike Schams

Mareike Schams

Verband der Volkshochschulen von Rheinland-Pfalz e.V. 

Dr. Mandy Singer-Brodowski

Dr. Mandy Singer-Brodwoski

Free University Berlin

Jens Tanneberg

Jens Tanneberg

Educational Association Arbeit und Leben (DGB/ VHS) e.V. Bremen


Since 1997, the DIE has been awarding the "Innovation Prize for Continuing Education". The award publicizes new and promising approaches in continuing education and presents them for discussion to a broader public. One of the central criteria for the award is that the projects must be innovative and field-tested, and that they must give new impetus to adult education.

Since 2020, the Innovation Prize has been supported by the "Dr. Norbert F.B. Greger Foundation for Innovative and Sustainable Adult Education" based in Mülheim an der Ruhr. The purpose of the foundation is to support scientific or practical, innovative and promising projects in adult education, which the DIE Innovation Award has honored every two years since 1997. The funding directly benefits the institutions of the award winners.


Dr Norbert FB Greger Stiftung


Contact for queries

Beate Beyer-Paulick

Sarah Behr


Kurzlink zu dieser Seite: