The DIE library is the biggest specialist adult education academic library in the German-speaking world and is conceived as an open-access reference library. The collection of educational science literature, launched in 1958, specialises in adult/continuing education, lifelong learning and related fields, and also features a large stock of commercially unpublished works, or so-called grey literature.

As a specialised library, the DIE documents literature by categorising, indexing and cataloguing articles in journals and periodicals. The data is then passed on to the North Rhine Westphalian Library Service Centre (hbz) and, as part of the library’s nationwide role in the provision of literature for educational research, to the German Education Index’s literature database (FIS Bildung Literaturdatenbank).

In line with the institute’s interdisciplinary and international alignment, the library focuses its acquisitions on key reference disciplines, such as psychology, sociology, business studies and philosophy. Along with its German language literature, the library also contains an increasing amount of foreign language media, in particular from English-speaking countries. This is in concurrence with the strategy to prioritise the acquisition of electronic media (e-preferred strategy.)

The library’s archives and historical records also provide invaluable sources for historical educational and course research.

Institutionalised research data management (FDM) and a research data policy are available at the library, which is also active in several third-party projects concerning the optimisation of research-supportive and infrastructural services. These include the creation of domain data protocols for empirical educational research as a means of improving the quality and follow-up use of research data, as well as the establishment of a product database, taking into account open educational resources on basic education and literacy.

Research

DIE Adult Education Literature Database

The DIE library’s inventory has been stored electronically in the “DIE Adult Education Literature Database” since the beginning of the 1980s. The database can be accessed online via the DIE’s online library catalogue (Web-OPAC), and contains references to books, journals and articles.

DIE Library catalogue

Media dating before 1981 can be researched by card index. We are happy to help on site.

Recommendations of publications you would like to see in the library can be sent to bibliothek@die-bonn.de.

DIE Bibliothek

Journals

An overview of our journals and periodicals can be found here:

Please note that the digital library catalogue (Web OPAC) does not yet contain all journals. 

Databases

Our database research system Datenbank-Infosystem (DBIS) is a collaborative service, drawing on almost 14,000 scientific databases from 350 libraries in all specialist fields. Of these, some 6,000 are freely accessible via the Internet. Other licensed libraries are available via the DIE campus network.

The (inter)national service has been established and developed by Regensburg University Library, with subsidies from the DFG.

List of new acquisitions

Newly-acquired titles can be found in the DIE library’s list of new acquisitions or via Twitter.

Loan of books

The DIE library is public and is aimed at students, researchers, teachers and practitioners in the field of adult/continued education.

Due to its status as a reference library, however, the loan of printed books and journals is limited to members of the institute.

Loan of e-books

The library’s free-of-charge e-book loan system is on offer to users regardless of their location and can be accessed via die-bonn.ciando.com. For instructions and login details, please contact: bibliothek@die-bonn.de.

Interlibrary loan and document delivery

The DIE library is an authorised interlibrary lending partner, according to German lending regulations (LVO).

Literature that is not available from the DIE library can be ordered by institute members via interlibrary loan or the document delivery service. For enquiries, please contact fernleihe@die-bonn.de.

Zeitschriften DIE

Research-related services

As of 2017, the library has offered institutionalised research data management services (FDM) and a Research Data Policy, accompanying each and every DIE research project from its conception, right through to the long-term protection of research data and dissemination of results, in line with the FAIR data criteria. A research data manual is available for support at all project stages, and external guidance on the services is increasingly at the fore. 

The DIE library is one of 12 partners in the ddp-Education consortia project.

Archive

The library also contains numerous historic artefacts, which are a valuable source for research into the history of education and courses. These include adult education journals dating back to 1900, as well as archives containing literary estates and the adult education course archive.

  • Adult Education Course Archive – comprehensive archive of further education course brochures
  • Meta archive – Index of literature, (external) archive holdings and brief information on historic figures and institutions in the adult education sector
  • Estate archive – Literary estates of key adult educators, and institute archives

Learning and working facilities

The DIE library’s diverse zones provide various opportunities for learning and working, both alone and in groups. There are convertible meeting “islands” and open conference rooms, with a modern learning space concept seeing the introduction of formal, functional work stations and informal, comfortable lounge areas, as well as a mobile touchscreen for interactive presentations.

A book scanner, free WLAN and two research PCs further support learning and working processes. Scanner users are requested to bring a USB stick.

Lockers are also available in the library.

How to get here

The DIE library is located in the northern part of the Institution, within the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF). The library can be accessed via the ground floor.

Directions

Registration

Visitors and those requiring access to the library are requested to register in advance. Please fill in the following form and be sure to bring your identity document with you when you visit.

Approximate time of arrival

Anti-bot verification

Opening times

Due to the Corona Pandemic, the following different opening hours of the DIE-Bibliothek apply until further notice:

Monday to Thursday

9am until 1pm

 

 

Contact

Information and service:

bibliothek@die-bonn.de, 0228 3294-240

Research data:

forschungsdaten@die-bonn.de

Data editing:

datenredaktion@die-bonn.de

Interlibrary loan:

fernleihe@die-bonn.de

Library management:

Dr. Elke C. Bongartz, bongartz@die-bonn.de

Scanner DIE Bibliothek

Bei der DIE-Bibliothek handelt es sich um die größte wissenschaftliche Spezialbibliothek für Erwachsenenbildung im deutschsprachigen Raum. Sie ist als Präsenzbibliothek mit Freihandaufstellung konzipiert. Die Bibliothek erwirbt seit 1958 Literatur aus der Erziehungswissenschaft mit den Schwerpunkten Erwachsenenbildung/Weiterbildung, Lebenslanges Lernen und deren Bezugswissenschaften. Auch außerhalb des Verlagsbuchhandels erschienene ("graue") Literatur aus dem Bereich der Erwachsenenbildung ist zahlreich vertreten.

Als Spezialbibliothek wertet die DIE-Bibliothek im Rahmen ihrer Literaturdokumentation Fachzeitschriften aus und erschließt diese, indem sie sie auf Aufsatzebene katalogisiert und verschlagwortet. Die Bibliothek liefert Daten an das Hochschulbibliothekszentrum des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen (hbz) und im Zuge ihrer überregionalen Aktivität im Bereich Literaturversorgung für die Bildungsforschung auch an die FIS Bildung Literaturdatenbank.

Als wichtiger Beitrag zur interdisziplinären und internationalen Ausrichtung des Instituts lenkt die Bibliothek ihre Erwerbungen verstärkt auf wichtige Bezugswissenschaften wie Psychologie, Soziologie, Betriebswirtschaft und Philosophie. Neben der deutschsprachigen Literatur finden sich in der Bibliothek in zunehmendem Maße fremdsprachige Medien, insbesondere aus dem angelsächsischen Bereich. Verfolgt wird dabei die Strategie, vorzugsweise elektronische Medien zu erwerben (e-preferred Strategie).

Mit ihren historischen Beständen und Archiven ermöglicht die Bibliothek die Nutzung von Quellen im Bereich der historischen Bildungsforschung und der Programmforschung.

Die DIE-Bibliothek bietet ein institutionalisiertes Forschungsdatenmanagement (FDM) sowie eine Forschungsdatenpolicy an. Ferner ist die DIE-Bibliothek in mehreren Drittmittelprojekten zur Optimierung forschungsunterstützender sowie infrastruktureller Services aktiv. Dazu gehört die Erstellung von Domain-Data-Protokollen für die empirische Bildungsforschung als Beitrag zur Qualitätssteigerung und Nachnutzung von Forschungsdaten sowie der Aufbau einer Produktdatenbank unter Berücksichtigung von Open Educational Resources zur Alphabetisierung und Grundbildung.

Recherche

DIE-Literaturdatenbank zur Erwachsenenbildung

Die DIE-Bibliothek erfasst seit Beginn der 1980er Jahre ihren Bestand elektronisch in der „DIE-Literaturdatenbank zur Erwachsenenbildung“. Es finden sich dort Nachweise zu Büchern sowie Zeitschriften- und Buchaufsätzen. Die Datenbank ist online recherchierbar über den Online-Bibliothekskatalog des DIE (Web-OPAC).

Bibliothekskatalog des DIE

Medien aus den Jahren vor 1981 können über Zettelkataloge recherchiert werden. Wir helfen vor Ort gerne weiter.

Ihren Anschaffungsvorschlag nehmen wir unter bibliothek@die-bonn.de gerne entgegen.

DIE Bibliothek

Fachzeitschriften

Einen Überblick über unsere Zeitschriften erhalten Sie hier:

Bitte beachten Sie, dass noch nicht alle Fachzeitschriften im digitalen Bibliothekskatalog (Web-OPAC) erfasst sind. 

Datenbanken

Zur Recherche in Datenbanken bieten wir Ihnen das Datenbank-Infosystem (DBIS) an. Dies ist ein kooperativer Service von ca. 350 Bibliotheken zur Nutzung von nahezu 14.000 wissenschaftlichen Datenbanken aller Fachgebiete. Davon sind fast 6000 Datenbanken frei über das Internet verfügbar. Nachgewiesen sind darüber hinaus lizenzpflichtige Datenbanken. Die von der DIE-Bibliothek für Sie lizenzierten Datenbanken sind über das DIE-Campusnetz zugänglich.  

Der Aufbau sowie die derzeitige Weiterentwicklung des (inter)nationalen DBIS-Angebots erfolgt an der Universitätsbibliothek Regensburg mit Projektfördermitteln der DFG. 

Neuerwerbungslisten

Über die neu erworbene Literatur in der DIE-Bibliothek können Sie sich in der Neuerwerbungsliste informieren. Das DIE postet seine Neuerwerbungen auch via Twitter.

Ausleihe

Die DIE-Bibliothek ist öffentlich zugänglich. Zielgruppen sind Studierende, Forschende, Lehrende, Praktizierende auf dem Gebiet der Erwachsenenbildung/Weiterbildung.

Weil es sich bei der DIE-Bibliothek um eine Präsenzbibliothek handelt, erfolgt die Ausleihe von gedruckten Büchern und Zeitschriften lediglich an Institutsangehörige und nicht an Externe.

E-Book Ausleihe

Um allen Nutzerinnen und Nutzern ein standortunabhängigen Service zu bieten, ermöglichen wir die kostenlose Ausleihe unserer E-Books. Die Ausleihe erfolgt über das Portal die-bonn.ciando.com. Eine Kurzanleitung sowie Logindaten für die E-Book-Ausleihe senden wir gerne auf Anfrage zu: bibliothek@die-bonn.de.

Fernleihe und Dokumentenlieferdienste

Die DIE-Bibliothek ist gemäß Leihverkehrsordnung (LVO) zum Leihverkehr zwischen Bibliotheken in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland zugelassen.

Literatur, die nicht in der DIE-Bibliothek vorhanden ist, kann durch Institutsangehörige über die Fernleihe oder über Dokumentenlieferdienste bestellt werden. Wenden Sie sich in diesem Fall bitte an fernleihe@die-bonn.de.

Zeitschriften DIE

Forschungsnahe Services

Seit 2017 bietet die Bibliothek ein institutionalisiertes Forschungsdatenmanagement am DIE (FDM) und eine Forschungsdatenpolicy an. Jedes Forschungsprojekt am DIE wird über den gesamten Zyklus von der Forschungsidee bis zur langfristigen Sicherung der Forschungsdaten und der Dissemination der Projektergebnisse unter Orientierung an den FAIR-Data-Kriterien begleitet. Ein Forschungsdaten-Handbuch dient dabei als Hilfestellung in jeder Projektphase. Zunehmend rücken auch externe Beratungen zum FDM in den Fokus.

Die DIE-Bibliothek ist einer von zwölf Partnern im Konsortialprojekt ddp-Bildung.

Archive

Zur Bibliothek gehören ebenfalls umfangreiche historische Bestände, z.B. Zeitschriften zur Erwachsenenbildung ab 1900 sowie Archive. Darunter befinden sich Nachlässe und das Volkshochschul-Programmarchiv. Diese fungieren als Quellen für die historische Bildungsforschung und Programmforschung.

  • VHS-Programmarchiv - umfangreiches Archiv von Volkshochschul-Programmheften
  • Metaarchiv - Verzeichnis von Literatur, (externen) Archivbeständen und Kurzinformationen zu historischen Personen und Institutionen der Erwachsenenbildung
  • Nachlassarchiv - Nachlässe bedeutender Erwachsenenbildner sowie Institutsarchive

Arbeiten und Lernen

Die DIE-Bibliothek bietet in verschiedenen Zonen vielfältige Möglichkeiten des Arbeitens und Lernens alleine und in der Gruppe. Es gibt zudem wandelbare Besprechungsinseln und offene Konferenzräume. Bestandteile eines neu umgesetzten, modernen Lernraumkonzeptes sind formelle, funktionale Arbeitsplätze, informelle, komfortable Lounge-Bereiche sowie ein mobiler Touchscreen für interaktive Präsentationen.

Unterstützt werden die Prozesse des Arbeitens und Lernens durch einen Buchscanner sowie die Bereitstellung von kostenfreiem WLAN und zwei Recherche-PCs. Bitte bringen Sie für die Nutzung des Scanners einen USB-Stick mit.

In der Bibliothek stehen Schließfächer zur Verfügung. 

Anfahrt

Die DIE-Bibliothek befindet sich auf dem Gelände des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF). Die Räumlichkeiten liegen im Nordbereich des DIE und sind über das Erdgeschoss zugänglich.

Wegbeschreibung

Anmeldung

Für den Besuch und den Zugang ist eine Voranmeldung erforderlich. Bitte füllen Sie hierfür das untenstehende Formular aus, und bringen Sie Ihren Personalausweis zur Vorlage an der Pforte mit.

 

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen ein
Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen ein
Bibliotheksbesuch am
Ungefähre Ankunftszeit

Bitte geben Sie Ihre E-Mailadresse ein
Sicherheitsfrage gegen automatische Formularroboter

Öffnungszeiten

Aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie gelten bis auf Weiteres folgende abweichende Öffnungszeiten der DIE-Bibliothek:

Montag bis Donnerstag von 09:00 – 13:00 Uhr

Kontakt

Information und Service:

bibliothek@die-bonn.de, 0228 3294-240

Forschungsdaten:

forschungsdaten@die-bonn.de

Datenredaktion:

datenredaktion@die-bonn.de

Fernleihe:

fernleihe@die-bonn.de

Bibliotheksleitung:

Dr. Elke C. Bongartz, bongartz@die-bonn.de

 

Scanner DIE Bibliothek